Before…

Today I am going to start reading and working through Rick Warren’s The Purpose Driven Life. I am writing a preliminary blog as a diary of sorts to write what I think before I begin the journey the book say it will take you on.

For starters I am a Christian. I believe that Jesus died for my sins and that one day I will go to eternal euphoria in heaven. Some day – if you believe the doomsdayers – I may die for that statement and I am okay with that. Second, I believe that we are all connected by a driving force that must be called different names because we don’t all speak the same languages, have the same traditions or even the same points of view. God created his image for the people of the world in the way that those people could understand him. I know many of my Christian brothers and sisters are going to blast me for that one, but it is what I believe. We go around “saving the world” when all we are really doing is telling them that my God is better than your god and you’re going to be struck by a bolt of lightening and die unless you convert and follow my God and call him by the name that I tell you to. It’s crazy.

Now, why did I get this book…I would say someone just told me about it and said I should get it…but that isn’t true. Someone in my life has always had this book. I am sure many of my family members have read it, but none of them ever said “Hey Megan, you should read this book.” So I never picked it up, I have always looked internally for what I should do and depended on my faith that the decisions I was making were with God’s blessing.

I have read all sorts of books…the Book of Miracles, The Celestine Prophecy, The Tenth Insight, books on Wicca, books on Confusous, books on just about anything and everything…but none of them say anything that forces me to figure it out. They tell you everything is related to the next thing and just go with what you feel is the best option for you. So, I enter into this journey with some reservations. I don’t know if this will be another book like them or if it will be completely new and different. I am praying.

I want to know what this life’s purpose is and I want to reach my full potential. I think about Joel Osteen’s story on the great big room in heaven filled with packages all labeled and ready to be given out. A man dies and as he is walking past he asks St. Peter what the room is for and his says that it is all the blessings that God had in store for the people of the world, but they went unclaimed. If they had but asked for it. I don’t want to have a package in that room.

Also I am pretty smart, but haven’t ever been able to figure out what I want or what I am supposed to do. So, I wonder from thought to thought…bounce from idea to idea. I am tired of bouncing…it’s not fun and I have two boys to point in the right direction. If I don’t know my own direction how am I going to help them figure out theirs…

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

