Day ONE: It All Starts with God

So…this is a really bad day to start this on. My son is currently under general anestesia for an MRI because he is 4 and can’t stay completely still for an hour. My heart broke as the fluid left the syringe and he cried out and hugged me and then he was sleeping. So…I am writing this first day from the waiting room at the hospital while he is in the other room. If it was just an MRI or if it was a grown up I wouldn’t worry. BUT this is my son…this is my baby…this is someone I nearly died to keep living. He is my life. So…It all starts with God.

Day ONE: Thinking about My Purpose

Point to Ponder: It’s not about me.

Verse to Remember: “Everything got started in him and finds its purpose in him.” Colossians 1:16b

Question to Consider: In Spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?

Right now this very instant I know it is not about me. I am not focused on the fact that it is about God and his purpose I am of course focused on Elijah. Wondering if maybe persuits of self discovery should be put on hold for a while. I am waiting…waiting…waiting…we have been waiting for 5 days.

The book talks about asking the inventor for the instructions on how to utilize his invention to maximize its purpose. That makes me think…how do you ask??? I answer…you pray. How can you pray in such a way to hear the answer and to know that it is the right answer and to know that it is the right voice. It is utterly impossible to decide. I have asked many people and several have told me that the correct answer will bring you peace of spirit.

Since I can’t figure that one out I start with something entirely different. Life is about living for God. What if in this next 40 days I live as Jesus taught, and see if then I can disern the voice. I want to hear I want to know the plan. I am not a planner per se but I like to be able to see ahead at least a little. To that end I will be kind, empathetic, love my neighbor as myself and help where I can, but I will also try to teach, motivate, and provide insight through my experience that shows others that life starts with God.

I will keep you posted…

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

