Day FOUR: Made to Last Forever

So today was trying…the time since my last post has been a little trying…but it’s getting better and worse. We can’t live in the apartment because apparently there is a mold in there that is making us sick. Then I had to leave to get the car today and it took me about 5 hours to get everything that needed to be done, done. I get back and Elijah has had the nurses hopping. 🙂

Day FOUR: Made to Last Forever

Point to Ponder: There is more to life than just the here and now.

Verse to Remember: “This world is fading away, along with everything it craves. But if you do the will of God, you will live forever.” -I John 2:17

Question to Consider: Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?

I read the chapter at 7 am this morning, and I still haven’t come up with an answer to this question. Perhaps the answer for me is to stay with my convictions more and be a little less flexible. I don’t know…

The chapter though was a good chapter. It is something that I have believed since I was 12 years old. We are only here for a moment, but the rest of forever we will be with God in Heaven. Now here is where I differ from the book in my belief…but not really. The book and some ministers say that we will be judge for our actions on this earth, what we do regardless of whether we accepted Jesus as our Lord and Savior or not. According to what I have been taught or what I have read this is not the case. By accepting him we are saved wholly and comepletely and when we stand before God after our death we are clean as new fallen snow. Why? Because we professed our faith in Jesus and became Christian.

My interpretation of how “works” works is that the more you align your actions with your faith and figure out how to discern the will of God the more content you will be in the here and now. Maybe that is too happy, sunny, Joel Osteen for you, but there is something in that, because when I do everything that I need to do and everything that I want to do to live in the faith the more abundant I become. I am not talking waist size here girls. 🙂 I am talking about the more I am able to do for others and the more I am able to show my faith through my actions I find life more satisfying. It isn’t about having money or things or a million friends, it is about waking up, singing a song, making breakfast for your kids and taking them to the park. Seeing them light up just because you walk into the room. When I am strong in my walk and firm in my faith the happier I am in my daily tasks.

This lady I knew once upon a time, would tell me that when she went to church on Sundays her cup was filled. She new that she would make it through another week because her faith was revitalized by singing and hearing the message and being part of something bigger than herself. At the time I thought she was kind of crazy. I wondered how she could feel that way. I knew that I had been going to church since I was a kid and I never felt that way. Then something happened. I found a church that I liked. I found a church that I looked forward to waking up for and attending. For the first time in my walk I was going not for socializing but to have my cup filled. I didn’t know why I looked forward to it I just did. I think sometimes we get so caught in what we are doing that we forget to feel what we are doing, why we are doing it, and ponder what we are doing it for.

I am not entirely sure what that had to do with today’s theme, but it leaves you something to think about. You are made to last forever. As a Christian you will be in heaven, but what do you want out of this life? If you live with an eternal point of view do you find value in the present?

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

