Day EIGHT: Planned for God’s Pleasure

So today is Friday, the end of my first “week” of work. I am enjoying it. I think I will enjoy it much more once students are present and there are things that need to be done. Until then…

Day Eight: Planned for God’s Pleasure

Point to Ponder: I was planned for God’s pleasure.

Verse to Remember: “The Lord takes pleasure in His people.” Psalm 149:4A

Question to Consider: What common task could I start doing as if I were doing it directly for Jesus?

How many of us feel pleasure? Luxuriate in it and feel all warm and cozy? Did you know that this is how God feels on ocassion as well? Man (and woman) were made in His image, thus He must feel deeply too. Rick Warren expresses in his book that God feels love, anger, jealousy, pain, and a whole plethora of what we consider human emotions. So me absolutely feels pleasure. Your existence gives pleasure to God, if it didn’t you wouldn’t have been created.

This chapter is about realizing how to make your existence more pleasurable to him. The question was what could I start doing…and there are some things that come to mind, like going to church EVERY Sunday – especially on days when I just don’t feel up to it or calling my family members once a week or making a definitive effort to be better at so many things. None of those seem grand enough though to be doing directly for Jesus. But I don’t think He expects granduer, that He’s got down. I think He expects us to show up when we are asked, offer a hand to a friend that needs to be picked up, provide a shoulder to cry on, and lend an ear when required. Ultimately the goal is to live in his image…if you don’t care about your fellow man and honor others with shouts of peace and good will then your ultimate pursuits are for nothing.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

