My Response to The Response

There was an event about two weeks ago in Houston called The Response.

Maybe you heard about it? (wink, wink)

I was bashed by some of my friends for attending this event. It was nationally advertised, hate group sponsored and riddled with tea partying conservatives!

How could I go?!

I find that sitting on the sidelines in celebrations of faith lackluster and rude. I am not calling everyone who bashed me rude, but to verbally assault an individual for having enough hutzpah to go and listen to what the event planners had to say before passing judgement is rude.

I think I have said it before, “Judge not, lest ye be judged.”

I live by that.

I have live by this rule because if you judge everything at face value you won’t have much of anything. People, their faith, and their purpose is never evident on the surface. The face displayed for show and the other for reality are not the same.

The Response was a prayer meeting. A big prayer meeting, but not nearly as big a prayer meeting as the one that occurs every Sunday at Lakewood. (You know – that massive church around the bend on 59 or maybe you have heard of it’s pastor, Joel)

The Response was a time for Christians to gather in praise and worship. Something done every Sunday morning, Sunday evening, and various other times of the week at churchs across the nation. (Yet we do not have the public outcry that occured in the days before this event.)

The Response was a call for men and women to gather and express their faith. As I have said in a previous blog, this should have been an interfaith event, but it wasn’t, there was a purpose in that. (Although by having this as a Christian only event you alienate a good portion of your population and cause the press to run wild with their ideas of what the event would be.)

I guess in the end I enjoyed The Response (one crazed anti-abortionist aside) and I am glad I was able to attend a meeting of Christian individuals to sing and pray. I listened to a few speakers and only saw Perry once. I didn’t see him speak and I don’t care. I didn’t go to see him. He may have been the only person with the balls to sit in a public platform and say this is what I believe. That is why he was “the face” for the event.

Whether you believe as Perry does, you know that took balls. He could make or break his political career on that move. (That’s another story.)

I enjoy politics, religion, and this event was right up my alley. I had to go. It was a compulsion. To see politicians stand up for their beliefs instead of hide them in the shadows is a change. For far too long we have seen politicians have one face for the public and one face for the floor.

Imagine where we would be (or who would be in power) if they were the same.

Love, blessings, and prayers to you.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

