The How and Why of the Forbidden Button

I think how you handle people who want nothing more than to see you squashed like a bee has a lot to say about who you are. For example, do you lash out at everyone or do you accept it with a deep sigh and move on?

Inevitably there will be people in your life that just don’t like you. There is no rhyme or reason other than your existence pisses them off.

I wish I could answer why for you, but that is between them and God.

I just don’t know.

I am going to admit this not before God and everybody…there are sometimes things about people who I just don’t like, don’t understand, and although I want to put out the effort to be nice and agreeable I just don’t care.

It’s like the  Pythagorean theorem you had to memorize in high school geometry, but don’t remotely remember now. You just don’t really care!

So, I guess sometimes that makes me the hater. Oh well.

Sometimes you got to stand on your own two feet and say, “I don’t like you very much and you’re not a very nice person.”

Now back to the subject of handling your own haters…people who just don’t care. I think there are several ways to handle them.

You walk away.

You smile and nod and when you can you escape.

You find a way to admit to yourself and to them that you want to click the “un-friend” or God forbid the “un-like” buttons on Facebook and IT’S OKAY!

You don’t reply to the extreme email.

You don’t immediately call them back when the phone rings. Or – Gasp! – You hit the ignore button on your phone!

I am not saying this to be mean. I am not saying this to be pointed or tacky.

People just need to learn when to leave and when to cleave. You need to let go of people you just don’t like anymore. You need to learn that no matter how tight a family may try to be most of the time, in many families, those relationships are not what they appear to be.

As for Facebook…look at your friends list. Who do you just really not care to hear from ever again? Click the un-friend/un-like button…come on! It’s Liberating!!!

Love and prayers to you all! Happy Thursday – cause tomorrow’s FRIDAY!!!

4 thoughts on “The How and Why of the Forbidden Button

  1. DesiValentine says:

    It’s true! There are days (like today) that I wish I had the stones to say, “You know what? You suck. Just forget that you know me.” And walk away.

    Thanks for the smile!

    • Megan DaGata says:

      There are some times that I would like to be able to do that as well. Some times I do! It’s a wonderful feeling to walk away from people who don’t contribute to your happiness.

  2. critters and crayons says:

    I wish I could say I were a magnanimous person- but I tend to follow the low road of “Never Initiate, But Always Reciprocate”. 🙂 It generally makes me feel better and people who are jerks tend to be that way because people let them be. I like to be a jerk back. 🙂 But, only if they were jerks first. Thanks for the post- And I’m only kidding about taking the low road- most of the time.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

