Happiness

I try to ask myself if happiness is fickle.

Is it a passing emotion? Is it something that can only be influenced by outside factors? Or is it more?

I am someone who believes happiness is a choice you make every day you open your eyes. It is a conscious decision to say to yourself. No matter what happens today I am going to keep my heart light and my mind clear.

I want to look at the world through rose-colored glasses.

I want to feel like Alice in Wonderland and see something amazing at every turn.

Let me say this.

It is so much easier when the factors outside of yourself all point toward you being happy with yourself.

When you have someone there who is encouraging you. When your family and friends support your choices. When you get to smile and not have to work at it.

I had forgotten that.

I had forgotten that some things aren’t so hard. I had forgotten that sometimes all you need is a little hope from the outside to let the light shine that is within us.

Thank you God for the things you have done for me. For the lights that you give me and help me to shine your light through me. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. critters and crayons says:

    I think it’s a choice, too- sometimes harder than others- I’ve been reading Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project and really like it- She attacks what it means to be “happy” from a research and evaluation standpoint. I’m into that stuff- One of the quotes I read on the elliptical today from her book (a multi-tasking activity that makes me happy- to be exercising and reading at the same time)- was from some super witty figure who said that the goal of the wise man is to be happy. 🙂 Happy Day to you!

  2. DesiValentine says:

    “I had forgotten that sometimes all you need is a little hope from the outside to let the light shine that is within us.” Me, too. I’ve read The Happiness Project, The Year of Living Biblically, and Brené Brown and Ken Robinson’s work on authenticity, happiness and creativity. While I’m always skeptical of any belief that there is One Right Way to live in this world, I think this expectation that happiness just happens is a key factor in our generation’s malaise. Be that little hope from the outside for everyone you meet, and we will all live a little more joyously.
    I hope you have an awesome day!

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

