Writer Questions: Fill It Out! From elisamichelle.wordpress.com

The Questions

1. What is your favorite word in the English language?

I don’t think there is one word in the English language that I like more than any other. My two favorite words are Elijah and Michael and they are the names of my children, so they don’t count.

2. Do you prefer writing poems or stories?

I like to write stories, but I have been known to share poetry as well. This is an older poem that I wrote after my step-father died, but it’s still pretty good. http://janeproject.blogspot.com/2009/06/storm.html

I am also working on a novel that may or not ever get finished.

3. Where do you get your inspiration?

LIFE! There is no other path to inspiration that is as entertaining.

4. What is your least favorite word?

Some of the naughtier words. I hate them, so I am not even going to type them.

5. When and where do you like to write?

Most days I can be found writing at home or at work or at lunch or anywhere. If the muse strikes you have to be able to jot down the thoughts that will lead to the next chapter, story, blog post, or short story.

6. What do you think makes a good writer?

Follow through, or like Elisa said, perserverance. Being able to continue though no one has paid you yet. Well…elance for $10 or $100 at a time really doesn’t count. A good writer is entertaining. You want to read their next piece.

7. Do you, according to the criteria you just described, think of yourself as a good writer?

Hmm…I think I am a good writer, or at least an adequate writer. Though at times I know what comes out is complete crap.

8. What is one thing you hate about writing?

When someone asks you, have you published anything yet? Always the answer is yes and no. Yes, I have been published, but no I haven’t made any money off it…yet. Which inevitably leads to “Why do you keep doing it?” Because I LOVE it. So much of what we do because we have to, this is something I do because I WANT to.

9. Why do you write?

To share. To teach. To work out the tangled ball of yarn within. To inspire. To breathe. To become more of myself.

10. Who do you write for?

Some things I write for me. Some things are directed at specific individuals. Some times just to the public in general. I get a thought or feeling that I have to share and those are usually the days when I get the most blog hits.

11. What is the best book you have ever read?

Oh…that’s a loaded question…because I like to read all kinds of books. The Great Gatsby is one of my favorites, the drama and flightiness intrigue me. Tara Road by Maeve Binchey, she draws such real pictures of hopes and dreams and loss. Vinegar Hill, I don’t remember the name of the author, but this was such a moving book. I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to know what happened to the characters after the book was finished.

12. Who do you look up to?

Maeve Binchey and Charlaine Harris. They have each created little niches out of their novels.

13. What do you think makes you able to write?

I am a people watcher. I watch what everyone does. How they react. How they hide. How they emote, encourage, tear apart. Then there is the tipping point on human experience that sometimes you have to put pen to paper before the emotions and experience disappear or grow dim.

14. Do you ever get writer’s block?

Only at times when I am content. It’s like the song, Fix Me, by 10 years says, “I’m fine in the fire, I feed off the friction.”  

15. What is the next thing you are going to write?

A lot of papers for school. Sadly my first semester back in 12 years just started, so unless it is related to a class or this blog, it’s not going to be worked on.

Now your turn. Fill this out, comment around. Discuss!

Hope you have a Happy Tuesday!

http://elisamichelle.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/writer-questions-fill-it-out/

3 thoughts on “Writer Questions: Fill It Out! From elisamichelle.wordpress.com

  1. Ran Hamilton says:

    1. What is your favorite word in the English language?

    Bamboozled. When I was younger I had a sneaking suspicious feeling that I had made it up. It was just that awesome of a word.

    2. Do you prefer writing poems or stories?

    The occurrence is rare these days, but on an off day that the stars fall in sync I’d pick poetry over standard prose and stories.

    3. Where do you get your inspiration?

    Myself, others, life in general.

    4. What is your least favorite word?

    Cumquat. It sound’s dirty but it’s not. It bamboozled us all that way.

    5. When and where do you like to write?

    When the mood strikes and my pen isn’t out of ink.

    6. What do you think makes a good writer?

    The ability to communicate through written language ideas, thoughts, and emotions concisely and easily.

    7. Do you, according to the criteria you just described, think of yourself as a good writer?

    I never claimed such, I have always claimed quite the contrary of the statement that I am a ‘good writer’. I’m okay with this.

    8. What is one thing you hate about writing?

    Expectations. At some point in some past time I wrote something remarkable, something I’m remembered for creating… and from that point on the expectation was set that I should emulate what once was or strive to better my best.

    9. Why do you write?

    Because I can. There really is not other reason that needs to justify what I do or why… everything I do is simply because I am able to do it.

    10. Who do you write for?

    I once thought I wrote to appease others, then after a time discovered I only ever did it for myself.

    11. What is the best book you have ever read?

    I believe this is a trick question because the answer might lock me into a certain style or level of competence. So let me leave you with the knowledge that my library goes from Edwin Abbott to Zitkala-Sa. I like books

    12. Who do you look up to?

    My own conscience.. and Morrissey.

    13. What do you think makes you able to write?

    Someone told me I could once. They were probably lying in an effort to make me feel better about myself. Let this be a lesson to each and every one of you – even if the truth hurts, a lie does the most damage.

    14. Do you ever get writer’s block?

    Quite often, and more often than not for long stretches at a time. Good thing I never thought of making this a paying career.

    15. What is the next thing you are going to write?

    That is completely up in the air.

    Hope you have a Happy Tuesday as well!

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

