Life and Times in these United States of Dysfunction

I write about my life, my experience, my struggles all the time. It is not easy to constantly strive to be better than my circumstance in today’s society. It is not easy to live with a quality of life that is similar to most of the people I know without the financial resources available to me.

I am one paycheck away from being on the street.

If something happened and I was not able to go to work, I would have to live in my car. Why? I am highly skilled, highly trained, highly trainable, highly motivated.

It doesn’t make any sense!

HOW did we get here?

HOW did we get to the point in American society that we can not sustain the economic advantages of life for all?

The preamble to the Constitution –

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Promote the general welfare…no it doesn’t say handouts. However if the goal of the founding fathers was to maintain a certain level of progress, then you occasionally have to provide for those who are in certain life situations.

Yesterday I tried to get assistance for a $94.49 electric bill. One time, all out, they are going to cut my lights off if I don’t get this paid by tomorrow bill. I work. I generally am able to pay my bills. Life happens. I had expenses that had to be covered and have not been able to get this paid. I asked my boss if I could come in late to work. I took the kids to school and daycare, and I went to the social services offices for our school district.

In Texas, our social services are not set up according to county, but according to school district. This I guess is to ensure the proper demographics, but if you are in an already poor school district, how are you going to have anything different on a service level?  I don’t understand the logic behind this system…but it’s the Texas government, and I don’t understand half of what they do.

Heck! I am even paid by the state of Texas and don’t get it!

I am angry at the system as it is…no I don’t have any solutions off the top of my head, but give me a little time and I can sure come up with a few.

Yesterday, as I was sitting with the social worker I was told that there was no assistance. There was not $94.49 to assist me with my electric bill. She called the various other charity organizations as I was sitting there. She was told the same thing from all of them.

There is no money.

How is that even possible? There are so many other people in MUCH worse situations and there is nothing for them?! Have I died and woken up in some desolate third world country?! I can’t even wrap my brain around this. I am flabbergasted.

This is totally insane! I am one voice of MANY and I know that our voices will be heard. They HAVE to be heard!

I am not a liberal, a democrat, a left-wing psycho. I would say that I am conservative, but compassionate to people’s needs. It’s been my life’s lesson that if you work together anything is possible. ANYTHING! We are all in this thing together. We are all stuck on this planet together. We all must WORK together. I am completely against a one world government. I am completely against even having a big government. They create needless red tape and giant agencies that DO NOTHING but spend money that is apparently NOT THERE!

I am a quiet voice in a movement that has been building across the nation. I have publicly stated that I am all for a revolution of thinking. I have said it for years. I stated problems that are wrong with the credit system of our economy since I had a blog on Fast Company in 2007-2008. I have not been ambiguous in my views on this. I have not wavered.

I generally don’t agree with Michael Moore, but even he has a point. I wish I had written down some of the things he said in his interview on MSNBC (I think) the other night. He is in NYC at the Occupy Wall Street protest. The Occupy Houston protest begins Thursday morning with a walk from Market square to JP Morgan Chase building, and then the group is walking to Hermann Park.

http://app1.kuhf.org/articles/1317677598-Grassroots-Protesters-Plan-to-Occupy-Houston.html

I would love to be there, but as it is I can’t afford to get to work much less skip work to attend a protest. Thus I am supporting via WordPress post today.

I am hoping that the link I am posting will work for you. It is an embedded video that is a message from anonymous to the 99%. Anonymous I am with you. I am in.

I have been a quiet voice for long enough, but if you need a louder voice let me know.

2 thoughts on “Life and Times in these United States of Dysfunction

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

