Internal Revolution, or maybe it’s Evolution

Love, hate. Happy, sad. Beginning, end.

Being at the paradox of your existence is nothing new. But being at the tipping point of your own internal revolution is…it is very new.

As we age and learn and evolve we become more than we give ourselves credit for, and we learn from our mistakes. Today while seeking web-spiration (That’s like inspiration – but online!) I stumbled into change, thoughts, and some wicked emotions.

Change

This is one of the great truths of life. No matter who you are all you have to do is make up your mind to doing things differently. All life is a choice. Go this way, go that way. Take the easy road or take the road that is a little bumpy.

Just make a choice. Don’t float and hope for the best. Life doesn’t work that way.

The Emotion of an Act

Another of life’s great truths. Perhaps a little too much for some to think about, but something that must be decided before you act in some situations. There is a great quote from Mae West, who was a vixen in her day, “Sex is emotion in motion.” I was reading on a blog the other day that said emotions don’t matter anymore. That it’s just a physical act. That’s too insensitive for my brain to really think about, I’m with Mae.

(EDIT: It seems that I was a little too concentrated on the sex portion of this quote this morning. lol 🙂 ) It also has to do with allowing yourself the freedom to realize there is more to people than their bodies. Their thoughts, dreams and emotional selves are so much more important. Let yourself be free enough to make a connection, to become less inhibited.

Let the ones you care about in, show them your sins, be the open-book person.

BE YOURSELF!

I love Emerson. His take on things has helped make me the philosophical person I am today. Maybe I started reading Emerson a little too young, and it changed me too soon. But really allow this to seep into your bones. We are constantly bombarded by images and suggestions on what we SHOULD be. Rarely are any of us what popular culture has determined we are. DON’T ALLOW POP CULTURE TO DETERMINE ANYTHING! 

Be who you are.

If you don’t know…start a journal, write a blog, read a book.

FIGURE IT OUT!

Once you know who you are, you will know your dreams and you will be able to start making them happen!

JUST REMEMBER – the dreams you want now are not always the ones you will get. God has a plan for you and a you have a plan for you.

God’s plan OVER RULES yours.

A few final thoughts

In all you do pray.

If you need help making a choice – pray, then seek wise counsel.

If you are uncertain – wait…time will make everything work out.

Tell the truth because keeping track of lies is WAY TOO MUCH WORK.

Live for yourself. You are going to have to wake up and look yourself in the eyes every day.

Who do you want looking back?

4 thoughts on “Internal Revolution, or maybe it’s Evolution

  1. singlegirlmodernworld says:

    Something must have made me click on your post because I really needed these words of encouragement this morning. I am a huge advocate for change and never becoming stagnant, but sometimes it gets hard to get other people on board.

    I made your first picture my computer background to remind me that every moment is another opportunity. Thank you 🙂

    • Megan DaGata says:

      Thank you! The last week hasn’t really been on topic, but I am getting back to the purpose of my blog. I took a little hiatus last week. Thanks again for stopping by! I love your blog as well! It’s great!

  2. DesiValentine says:

    I like this. The truths you’ve written about are known to me. I’ve done my share of fumbling, discovering, bleeding, and grieving. I know what joy is. And I love, unapologetically, with my whole heart. I am painfully honest. But being true to myself, all the time no matter what, is something I still struggle with. I keep letting this nebulous person “I should be” get in the way. Thanks for writing this. I needed that extra hit of truth today 🙂

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

