The Search!

Ahhh!!!!! The search! It makes me want to shout from roof tops that finding a job sucks!

I was happily and contentedly employed until December 16th, 2010. I liked my job, I loved my coworkers and I was thrilled to help the public every day. I may have grumbled when forced into the hole known as medical records, but my star shined bright when behind the front desk at my little dental office. I loved it. I miss it.

Five months and one 2000 mile move back to the city that is at the top of every jobs list, and I started working for a little university. I don’t mind it, but it’s boring. (Sorry if you’re reading this Dean R, but you know what I say is true.) I have one task every month – maybe. I am to reconcile our budget and provide that information to our accounting department. We haven’t spent any money, so it’s really not that hard.

Otherwise, I wait. I wait for students to need help or the coordinator of our little department to need something and I feel like I am wasting away. The only brain power required on a daily basis is the one used to write this blog. I love my little blog and at a different job I would be hard pressed for the time to write it. BUT that doesn’t stop me from longing for more.

I never really stopped actively searching for a job. But in a city of several million people and several hundred thousand unemployed…the pool is deep and wide. I lost a job after working for 10 months last year and I have only been working this one for 5 months…so I look like a flight risk.

The longevity on my resume scares people away.

I don’t even get the interview because by looking at the sheet of paper in front of them I am a lackluster employee who may or may not hang around long enough to collect my paycheck.

Thus I am frustrated.

I even had a recruiter the other day tell me that I should add REASONS FOR LEAVING to my resume. To which I thought, What the heck?!

Anyway, the search continues. The applications going out are many. The interviews are few…as in none. I haven’t had an interview since May when I interviewed for this job!

No one wants to hire the unemployed, so when the unemployed accept a job beneath them, they get the shaft two ways. First, the jobs we accept pay peanuts. Second, by trying to leave these jobs we look fickle and challenging and no one wants to give us a chance.

I hope that Apple, Inc (yes –Ā I applied there today for a few corporate jobs) reads this. Give me a chance guys! I know I am a great employee just need the challenge!

5 thoughts on “The Search!

    • Megan D. says:

      Thank you Tricia! I know I am one voice of the multitude! I am trying to keep a sense of humor about it…I did leave out my Sponge Bob reference…but some may not have gotten that! lol šŸ™‚ Hope all is well with you! You had a great post today!

  1. Lisa Wields Words says:

    I feel you. I am in this weird limbo between wanting a traditional position and wanting to forge my own path, because I thrive on work that challenges and inspires. At the same time I am both employable and unemployable, with a resume that reads like a person with multiple personalities who juggles many balls at once. Someday I’ll figure it all out. Don’t give up.

    • Megan D. says:

      I love this! “with a resume that reads like a person with multiple personalities” šŸ™‚ Mine is all fairly logistics/accounting stuff…but I know how you feel! I would love to branch out on my own and conquer the world or words or something, BUT the boys require sustenance on a daily basis, so Momma’s gotta have a gig!

  2. Tori Nelson says:

    Hang in there, Megan! The right opportunity will come along. My dad was laid off from a high-level executive job a few years ago. He had the hardest time searching for new work, particularly at his age, but ended up finding a really wonderful career doing something completely different. He went from a global accounts exec. to a consultant for elderly people seeking assistance. He never thought he’d be doing what he does or loving work as much as he does now!

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

