“Bury that horse in the ground” – Shake it Out

This is my new theme song. Part of what I hope is a happier approach to life.

Have a listen. It’s an awesome song, Shake it Out, but Florence and the Machine.

What is this whole thing about burying the past after yesterday’s lamentation of being stuck there and not being able to move on? Well, it’s two things really.

First, no matter what you’re stuck on the world continues, day turns to night which turns to day, and the dates flick by on the calendar. Even if we feel like we are stuck, we really aren’t, everything around us continues all we have to do is join in.

Second, it’s not really attractive to constantly bring up the past. Something I have learned – it’s a no-no. If you are reconnecting with an old pal and letting them know how your life has been since you have seen them last, that’s one thing. Tell the story, get it out there, and leave it alone. Don’t let it hinder the progress of the friendship. Your trust, commitment, or relationship issues really aren’t their problem, cut them some slack.

If you would, indulge me by reading the lyrics you may better understand why this is my new theme song.

Florence And The Machine
Shake It Out lyrics

Regrets collect like old friends
Here to relive your darkest moments
I can see no way, I can see no way
And all of the ghouls come out to play

And every demon wants his pound of flesh
But I like to keep some things to myself
I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn

And I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind
I can never leave the past behind
I can see no way, I can see no way
I’m always dragging that horse around

And our love is pastured such a mournful sound
Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground
So I like to keep my issues strong
But it’s always darkest before the dawn

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh woah

I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
Cause I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaahAnd it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh woahAnd given half the chance would I take any of it back
It’s a final mess but it’s left me so empty
It’s always darkest before the dawn

Oh woah, oh woah…

And I’m damned if I do and I’m damned if I don’t
So here’s to drinks in the dark at the end of my road
And I’m ready to suffer and I’m ready to hope
It’s a shot in the dark and right at my throat
Cause looking for heaven, for the devil in me
Looking for heaven, for the devil in me
Well what the hell I’m gonna let it happen to me

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh woah

Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah
Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, ooh woaaah

And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh woah

**http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/f/florence_and_the_machine/shake_it_out.html

It’s hard to live if you are constantly thinking about your past. Reflection is natural, but moving forward should be how you cope.

Get out there, have fun, do something with yourself. Find a hobby.

I know that some times this is hard to do. You may not be ready to find someone, but you can find something.

My ladies group and I are starting a charity, I am going to throw myself into that. Helping those who are in need is a great stress reliever. I’m not into dating. I am otherwise busy.

I also need to take a serious inventory of what I am going to be needing for me.

If you are here, where I am, I suggest figuring that out. Make your list and don’t settle for anything less than you deserve. My friends keep telling me to do this, but I have lived the saying, “Better the devil you know than the devil you don’t.”

When we constantly attach ourselves to the same type of people it is because we know those patterns, we know those behaviors, we are comfortable in our struggle because we don’t expect more. By diverting from that we can run into one of two things, people who exceed our expectations and people we should run from, far away as fast as our feet will carry us.

It’s that second type that make this a scary process. I dated someone who ended up being a complete psycho, so yeah….I ran back to the man I had filed for a divorce from and cancelled the filing. But as Flo says, “I’m going to bury that horse in the ground.”

I am hoping to meet someone who exceeds my expectations. That’s what we all need after all. Someone to cherish us, hold us, and make us feel like we are worth their efforts.

Here’s the trick for some people to learn…be worthy.

5 thoughts on ““Bury that horse in the ground” – Shake it Out

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

