You have power – Use it!

I don’t remember where I found this picture…maybe HuffPost

Here is a tidbit that you are missing if you aren’t in the know, because none of the national news organizations are carrying the news.

Today is the start of the Official Occupy Congress.

This is in addition to the Occupy Wall Street movement. There are no leaders of the tribe though and without will full leadership there will be no change in the status quo. I am going to refer you to my comments in an ongoing conversation on the seeming failure of the occupy movement.

I don’t think it’s doomed to failure, but I think we need to choose leadership…now.

Also there is SOPA, AKA Stop Online Piracy Act There is talk about rewriting and reworking the information, and resubmitting through the House for approval.

Have you heard about SOPA yet?

I haven’t talked about it…but here is the short skinny on it.

“The originally proposed bill would allow the U.S. Department of Justice, as well as copyright holders, to seek court orders against websites accused of enabling or facilitating copyright infringement. Depending on who makes the request, the court order could include barring online advertising networks and payment facilitators from doing business with the allegedly infringing website, barring search engines from linking to such sites, and requiring Internet service providers to block access to such sites. The bill would make unauthorized streaming of copyrighted content a crime, with a maximum penalty of five years in prison for ten such infringements within six months. The bill also gives immunity to Internet services that voluntarily take action against websites dedicated to infringement, while making liable for damages any copyright holder who knowingly misrepresents that a website is dedicated to infringement.[4]” 

The above was courtesy of Wikipedia…an information source that would likely be shut down if this bill were to pass.

My personal opinion is that the government is try to impose sanctions on a system that is set up to provide information at will. We use the internet to double-check the lines they feed us, and we get startlingly different views if we check our news against international newspapers. The edit/censor button is far too familiar to the US government and the big businesses that the Occupy Movement is rallying against.

The sad part to the paragraph above is that I have been doing it since the mid 90’s. I wanted to live in London after high school, so I would read the Observer or the London Times. The differences were so startling I have continued to do it.

I know the pains the music industry has had since Napster’s creation. The part I didn’t understand was charging kids with crimes when they didn’t have a clue that what they were doing was wrong. They were downloading music to their new toys. They happened to find it online for free. How freakin’ awesome…if I had been able to have a computer back then I would have done it too.

But now it’s not just music.

I read a piece on Craigslist about this now becoming an issue for all the items we buy or sell online. Click on the link to read the entire piece, but if I want to sell my old stereo cables, I’m going to. I paid the seller who paid the manufacturer. If they want to make more waste and fill more land with garbage that’s their karma.

Think about the effects of something like this. We are no longer able to buy or sell any used items in an online environment. How many of us do that all the time?

I am flabbergasted that House Representative Lamar Smith even laid out the details of a bill such as this in the US Congress. I suppose Rep. Smith (of Texas by the way) forgot that he lives in the United States. I suppose he thought that with everyone arguing indefinite detention and NDAA that he could just scoot his bill through.

Not going to happen.

I am trying to think of a single website that I use during the day that wouldn’t be shut down, and there is not one that I can think of…Facebook, Twitter, Google+, WordPress, Craigslist, TED, Yahoo, Huffington Post.

All of them would fall prey to a bill like this.

It makes me think of communist China, they have so many government imposed censors on the internet there that you are not able to log into several of the sites that I mentioned above.

By all accounts the bill is dead in the water, but you never know with these things, best to stay informed.

Back to Alice Walker again, “The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.”

You have power…use it.

The Constitution says “We the People” it doesn’t say we the businesses. If we don’t start taking control of our own actions and making our voices heard we will no longer have the ability to be a voice.

10 thoughts on “You have power – Use it!

  1. datingonpurpose says:

    The problem with SOPA is that it will NOT stop online pirating. The reason they could shut down napster was because it was an American based company. They could implement their laws.. so, they just ‘relocated’. That’s why people get away with it so easily these days because there is no international law for it. So, even if they were to block certain international sites if I wanted to access a blocked international site.. I could easily do it. They aren’t even talking about blocking international sites that support piracy though.

    What SOPA is doing is changing the way the government and the entertainment conglomerates are force feeding people, like yourself, you don’t pirate. People who watch Youtube, shop online, and get their news. Those are the people who will be effected.

    • Megan D. says:

      The thing that gets me is that so many individuals are supporting the bill blindly. It only serves to destroy fundamental rights. I keep having the images from that Charlie Chaplin video from before WWII floating through my head. A pirate is a pirate,they will always fulfill their lot.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

