What’s your purpose for money?

This week Danielle LaPorte is asking What’s your purpose for money?

To quote her post directly…

“Beyond the basics of food, shelter, and health, what do you need money for? Does beauty matter? Does comfort matter? Does stability have great meaning for you, or the capacity to travel the world? If you say it matters to you, then it matters. And what matters varies wildly from person to person.

You are the economist of what matters to you.”

It is with a deep sigh that I answer this and hope to not sound too ostentatious. Posting these thoughts is intimidating…it means that you guys know details of the end results of my dreams. To me that is scarier then detailing the codependancy issues I had with my addiction prone ex-husband.

New territory is about to be discovered…I have visions of granduer…but you need to dream big to achieve big.

So, here’s the things that have been ruminating in my head since I read this Sunday or maybe it was Monday. In truth I can’t remember it was late.

First and foremost, I want to provide for my family by writing for you, but Danielle says to go beyond food and shelter.

I equate this thought process with this question:

What do I want to do in my life?

I want to travel. I want to take my children and my family with me. I want them experience another culture. It’s a big world out there. Let’s see it. I would love to write about all of those trips.

I would like to have an account for Elijah and an account for Michael each with enough so they can get the best education money can buy without having to worry about how to pay for it. HOWEVER, they would have to earn that money doing humanitarian work and making the most of their youth.

I would like to fund a local charity organization that will assist low-income families with necessities, baby supplies, parenting classes, AA/Al-Anon Groups, a clothes closet for the parents and children, a food pantry, spiritual healing and free classes to advance themselves in this life. (And I would have a daycare available at no cost to take care of children while their parents better themselves.)  –  I’m working on this one now. It is my other passion. By local I mean one in the Texas Hill Country, one in the Galveston area, and the third is already helping many people in Cortland, NY. Miss Pat, you’re an inspiration, I would like to help you realize all the dreams you have for your organization.

I would like to influence social changes in our society. Someone once told me you needed either fame or money to be a real change agent…challenge accepted.

Now the last few are going to sound silly…

Since most of our time is spent at home, doing the every day things, just like everyone else I would simply like to be able to do my grocery shopping at Whole Foods and Central Market buying organic and gluten free. Taking a class to learn how to live gluten free. If there isn‘t a class available here I would like to go somewhere else and take a few classes. Then come back home and teach others. I love cooking, but southern fried isn’t healthy. I would like furniture that came from a store not from a family member. I would simply like the safety of owning a home without a payment.

So, what is your purpose for money? What do you want out of life?

One thought on “What’s your purpose for money?

  1. Tori Nelson says:

    After becoming a stay-at-home mom and adjusting to sharing one income with more than myself, I realized money doesn’t play too big a role in my life. I like the comfort of knowing that it is there is I or anyone else in the family really needed it, but I don’t have much use for it outside of that!

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

