What do you want to revolutionize?

Part Four in Danielle LaPorte’s Burning Question series: What do you want to revolutionize?

Is it too foolish to say life?

Not just my life, but everyone’s. Is that the utmost in narcissism? Thinking that my way of thinking and doing things would benefit more people – if they read me or listened? Even the psycho babble and crap on dating.

Is it life that I want to change or just the way we all think about life?

We have fiercely negative distractions and thought patterns that do nothing to benefit us. I would like to see more people have an actively positive process. Yes, feel anything negative you like, but try to find the positive. I know people have been trying to get others to think this way for a while, but I would like to make a concerted effort to do this. “Accentuate the positive.”

Or maybe not…I don’t know! This question has me a little stumped!

Here’s what I do know.

We need to adjust our attitudes toward each other.

We need to change some things about the world in order to make it better for all.

We need to provide our children with a positive, creative education based on so much more than generalized test scores.

We need to change the way we eat and how it gets to our table…maybe not change so much as believe that the purer the food, the healthier the body.

We need to find solution to the troubles of the political process. The two party systems are broken.

We need to create a sustainable energy provider. Fossil fuels will only last so long.

There are so many things, but like I’ve said before we all need to make this effort. Accept nothing less than the best for the planet.
(Insert scream here.)

It is this that has brought me up short! I can think of so many things that I want to do. So many things that I am passionate about. I guess I will have to see…eventually…

I have changed majors though…communications with the emphasis on journalism. I’m thinking a degree in Public Affairs from LBJ school too. So I guess the first thing I’m revolutionizing is myself.

As usual…sigh…

3 thoughts on “What do you want to revolutionize?

  1. seubank says:

    Every great revolution stems from a thought, becomes an idea, and then a plan is formed. Socrates said ” let him that would move the world, first move himself”. One of my favorites. And a seed has been planted. Every day a seed of thought is planted.

  2. Mel Ann Morales says:

    Just being aware and starting somewhere (within you) is a revolution in progress! Love what you wrote here! I agree with your list. I think technology robs us of face to face accountability – we have grown callous and cold towards our fellow humans because until we are forced to interact them in real life – most interactions have become through callous and cold technology and we often get the two confused!

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

