A question to Single Parents

How do you do all that you do?

I for one know that I don’t do everything I wish I could. I tend to sacrifice the things that I want to do for me for the things that I want us all to do as a family. For the life I want us to have as a family.

I admit to crying into my pillow at night. It’s part of failure and loss of what you thought this whole life thing was going to be like. I have somehow unearthed the passionate urge to finish my formal education and really really really want to do it. That however would mean hours away from my children….so priorities come into question.

I have lots of different visions for my path, so I won’t be defined by not completing my degree. I just want one. I want the fun of being around like minded educated people. I love discussing philosophy and the plight of humanity. I love to encourage educational pursuits although I don’t feel that everything taught is accurate.

Go out and experience.

My friends and I have been talking a lot lately about the changes that are going to occur in the Texas Educational system. Well…they are not changes to the system so much as the rewriting of history. The reeducation of teachers to an agenda that makes everything that is wrong in the world seem right. While reading up on these changes I cringe.

That’s another question entirely.

How do I as a single parent – BENT on teaching my child the truth – home school and work full-time to provide for the household?

I will have to homeschool for them to read the great philosophers, to know the why and how of the Constitution, for them to know that history is in fact written and rewritten to fit a bias. The war in Vietnam is a great way to emphasize this theory. BEFORE the internet went all private I did a research paper on this war. I found some incredible real life testimonies that made my blood boil and skin crawl and decide to never join a branch of the armed forces.

I have never been one to bury my head in the sand when it comes to truth. I would rather hurt because someone told me the truth then feel better with a lie. There is no greater injury.

But back to my original question – How do you do all that you do?

Aren’t you tired? I know that last night as I was leaving work I got a list from the sitter and had to go to the grocery store. After an hour and a half of picking up everything we needed I made it home. My son comes running out. I love it when he does this, but then I found out his behavior did not meet expectation yesterday so I have to reprimand him. Then the sitter wants to talk about things that I don’t  care about. I listen. Michael runs up to me and starts screaming when yes I hug him but don’t hand over my telephone. He is a bit of an iphone fanatic. Then all I can remember is the din of noise until about 830 when the kids are finally in bed and I get to sit down to watch TV. However instead of watching anything I pass out on the couch. Throw in a screaming fit and a little playtime at night and you’ve got my evenings.

How do you guys go to school and work full-time?

How are you finding enough time alone to find a partner in life?

Do you ever lose it like I do and send the kids to bed early because their ability to give you five seconds of silence is just gone?

This is all coming because it’s all time to register for classes if I am going to go back to school. I really want that communications degree, but I don’t know if I will find the time or patience.

2 thoughts on “A question to Single Parents

  1. Angel_DWMW (@Angel_DWMW) says:

    Honestly, I don’t know how y’all do it. I’m married with a loving, supportive, helpful husband and I STILL don’t get everything done. I still feel like my family is coming up short, and I still feel like a failure a lot of times. There just aren’t enough hours in the day for work, housework, cooking, schoolwork (kid’s, not mine — whew!) time with my husband, time for me, and sleep. Most days, I do what has to be done and the rest I put off until “tomorrow.”

    On a funnier note, it’s a GREAT excuse for not getting the dusting done. :-).

  2. Lisa Wields Words says:

    I know I’m not officially a single mom, despite weeks on end when I am because of a crazy schedule, but I have watched with amazement as single mom’s go through my classes and juggle all that they do. There are no easy answers. I too have made sacrifices for the family that mean I don’t take care of myself first. That means that, in many ways, I am unhappy. I just recently realized that the example I am setting for my daughter by always being the one to sacrifice is not the one I want to set. So, while I may have to give up some time with her and with the family, I am putting my goals into priority now. Do I feel guilty? Yes. Do I feel like it is the right choice. Yes. I want my daughter to know that she is a valuable person in this world, and the only way I can do that is by showing her that I too am a valuable person.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

