Brief Observations

I guess I don’t ask enough questions of other people.

I don’t want to know too much about their situations, well because I remember what is was like to want no one to know what was going on with me and my life.

When someone seems – off – I just accept it as their eccentricity and work around their temperament. I make sure they have essentials, but don’t pry because I just don’t want the conflict in my life. I don’t care what you do with you as long as you don’t bring me into your mess.

After a decade of being neck-deep in a mess I put my big girl panties on and jumped ran out of this mess. Although at times I still feel like resolving it consumes all my energies.

I got burned – bad – but I’m recovering, so I’m cool.

Only I’m not.

Just when I think things are normal they revert to “Megan normal.” My problem is that I don’t know how to say no. Not the reason’s in the song “Can’t say no”

I simply have a soft spot for people in the mire.

I think everyone deserves a chance no matter where they come from. I think I have automatic faith in others, but once that is broken I kick myself.

“Why couldn’t I have seen this coming?”

“Why couldn’t I see the signs?”

This isn’t just with my ex-husband. This is with anyone.

To me this is how we should be. We should have faith in the rest of our species to do what they are supposed to do.

Only they don’t. Then we get mad. We shut ourselves down, and we build iron barriers between us and the rest of the world.

As a person who is codependant I have to work extraordinarily hard to maintain boundaries. I regularly forget they exist and I know that I need to consciously reconstruct them all the time. It’s like this constant thing I have to logically think through. I can do this. I can’t say that. I can see this needs to be done. I shouldn’t do this or that.

For most of the human population this is normal behavior, but for me it’s not.

It’s attachment issues. Totally acceptable if the attachment is to solid, stable individuals, but normally it’s to twisted, addicted, drama driven idiots. This includes friends.

I am a born listener and fixer. Try as I might I can’t fix everyone. When I was 17 years old I was driving in a car with my great uncle’s new wife and she just started pouring her heart out to me. I just stared straight ahead and listened. I didn’t know my uncle really well, in fact I hardly knew him at all. I had just met the woman going all stream of conscious on me that day.

When she was done it’s like she woke up. She apologized for telling me all the gory details, but she felt I could help her.

I couldn’t.

Honestly – I had never even been on a real date at age 17. I didn’t know the first thing to say. So I whispered a prayer and gave her a hug. I don’t know where she is now. Her marriage only lasted a short while after that, so maybe that was her answer to her problems.

That was the first time someone had ever done that, but it’s been repeated thousands of times, besides the friends that I grew up with – which in itself had gotten me into trouble. I was a bit of a gossip, until this one time a parent confronted me and I don’t think I have really gossiped again.

It’s one thing to hear a story – it’s entirely different to repeat it. I am still reminded of this when I hear something juicy and want to share, but then I remember how that felt so I don’t.

Can you tell I am trying to figure this whole codependant thing out still? I’m told it’s like alcohol or drug addiction. There is not a defined recovery pattern. There is only the day-to-day.

Each choice I make to spiral or to soar. Each relationship, real or imagined, a step to recovery.

I long for a relationship, a lasting, healthy relationship, but almost two years I still wonder if I will ever be able to let someone in. Well, maybe not let someone in, but let them in and not become everything.

This is a delicate balance that is foreign to me.

My delicate balance – Solid ground vs. a Free Fall

6 thoughts on “Brief Observations

  1. seubank says:

    This is beautiful. So true, but this is a struggle for anyone who is on the path to doing the right thing. I love your honesty. I do what I do and don’t worry so much about how it turns out. I don’t worry about how my words will be twisted. Still, it is hard to find good, genuine friends. Friends that do not only call or show up when they need something from you. Friends that you can talk to and not have your business thrown out into the world for criticism. Most of the people we come in contact with will only be acquaintances. This is a sad fact, but so very true. My dad used to tell me that I would be lucky if I made it through life with one true friend. I might be really lucky because I think I might have a few 😉

    • Megan D. says:

      I’m lucky to have you as a real genuine friend that I can talk to and I hope you feel you can talk to me. When something like last week happens its a scary reminder that I’m still working on me. Love you Sim. Hopefully I’ll see you soon!

  2. Andra Watkins says:

    As a person who’s struggled through all these things (and still does), I totally understand how you feel. I developed a simple boundary that has worked pretty well for me. If I am the person who is always reaching out, suggesting a get-together, asking for time, initiating contact, etc., then I stop for a while and see what happens. If I don’t hear from the person wondering where I am, I let the relationship go. There’s no reason to keep investing in people who don’t appreciate that investment. I prefer to spend time with people who actually WANT that, and my friendships have changed radically in the past decade as a result.

    Big hug for you. xo

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

