Why is this even an issue!? (Scout’s dropping ban on preference)

I am a cub scouts mom and a new person to the realm of being a scout. I was never into scouting as a child. Girl Scout cookie sales just didn’t appeal to me.

Boy Scouts though has always sounded cool. Camping, canoeing, going on adventures!

If only I had been born a boy. I would have loved it and participated for endless years.

But I wasn’t.

So I couldn’t.

NOW though – I have boys! Two of my very own to do these adventures with all the time!

Boy Scout Motto "Be Prepared"

Boy Scout Motto “Be Prepared”

Let me tell you what a blessing being a scout has been! We’ve been camping, made lots of wonderful friends, and participate in some awesome charity work.

Do you want to know what has never come up – not once!?

Sexual preference.

I don’t care whose going home to whom and come to think of it I don’t think anyone else does either. Like most things in life we are there to broaden our children’s’ horizons, not to change ours.

I read this article (well parts of it), and I can’t help but be intolerant of some of the disgraceful bias presented by religious leaders of my own Christian Sect!

As an Ally I tend to think more progressive and hope for human rights for all. I am regularly befuddled by prejudice in people that I know and love.

I am a Christian and there is only one hard and fast rule “My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you” (John 15:12)

Then again the Golden Rule is always appropriate.

“So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.” (Matthew 7:12)

Basically I think the Almighty would agree with my view-point in tolerance and humility before chastising a populace based on a personal preference or birth fact without regard for their humanity.

We are all humans. We are all part of the human experience.

Why is this even an issue? Why are people so bent on intolerance that they can’t see past their prejudice and sectism?

I hope the Scouts do drop their ban. I hope that Scout parents nationwide understand that teaching your child about bias and hate is against everything that the Scouts stand for.

Boy Scout Oath

   Boy Scout Oath

One thought on “Why is this even an issue!? (Scout’s dropping ban on preference)

  1. seubank says:

    I had this same thought last night as I watched The New Normal saved to my DVR. I do love that show. I don’t understand how we have gotten so wrapped up in gender preference issues. There are much larger things in life to do battle over. I never thought love could be such a negative thing…but it has become so. Simply because there are those that feel it can’t be love if it is applied to same sex couples. What a shame. Live and let live. I don’t think this should be a national issue, a political issue, or even an issue at all.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

