“Stop the Glorification of Busy”

Ten minutes ago I told someone “I like to be busy.”

He said, “It certainly makes the day go quicker.”

Then I took the lunch I heated up, headed back to my desk, flipped on Facebook and was confronted with this image.

576121_10152661447940623_796962126_n

Let’s let the words ruminate for a bit.

“Stop the glorification of busy.”

Stop

The

Glorification

Of

Busy

~Whoa~

Pardon me while I have a moment.

What does THAT MEAN!?!?

I’ve been complaining about the lack of tasks to do on a given day of the week, but does that mean I am glorifying busy?

I can’t say for sure, but I think so.

I get caught in this web of – I have to do this, then this, then this.

I like having a tight schedule and deadlines, so this role change at work has thrown a kink in my day.

For ten of the last twelve months I have been extraordinarily busy. I’ve juggled multiple stresses and handled everything from screaming vendors (yes, literally) to lack luster coworkers who really didn’t want to work, and I think I’ve done a pretty damn good job.

But – Am I glorifying busy?

It would seem that yes – yes I am.

Because I felt like I was an integral part in the chain of purchase to paid completion. I mattered. People could try but they couldn’t ever quite do what I could do.

(Yes, I was wrong for thinking that…but I did.)

My role changed about two months ago and the pace at which I worked feels like I came to a dead stop in a hurricane. Like I was on the dirty side and now I’m not. Now I am just watching the clouds from the dry side. Watching them dip and swirl and never having to get wet.

This isn’t a bad spot to be in, but I am no longer busy.

For a while now I have complained because it feels like it should be a bad thing. I have time on my hands when everyone else that I know seems to be extremely busy. I can walk through the floor and see members of the various departments typing away.

Enter this, delete that, pay this, wait on that, why hasn’t this client paid, why are these invoices being…you get the idea.

I am wrong again.

“Stop the glorification of busy.”

Having time on my hands isn’t a bad thing.

It leaves me time to think about how to improve the process so that the whole company can benefit. Having been in the trenches I know what it is like and I can provide workable solutions.

I think the whole corporate world needs to put a stop to Machiavellian power strategy that keeps the guys at the top, the guys at the top.

One of the books I’m reading right now is “The Prince.” Machiavelli’s homage to the great power struggles of his day.  But the philosophy is still so prevalent today.

But let’s not get into that right now.

Right now you should be thinking of your life (personal or professional) and figure out how you can stop glorifying the amount of stuff you do.

Slow down.

Don’t join every club.

Don’t agree to be the do it all soccer mom.

Learn to say no.

No is a powerful word when you are trying to change the busy habit.

keep-calm-and-just-say-no

4 thoughts on ““Stop the Glorification of Busy”

  1. (JoJo) says:

    We truly need the time to appreciate the moments that are worth living for. Everything else is “busy work” and becomes a blur. When that happens we miss the moments of peace, inspiration and appreciation. Great post in your Blog!

  2. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Great post. I was thinking about reflecting on the post on Facebook as well, but decided against it and chose to just sit and be for a moment instead. I think staying busy is good, if you are doing things you love for the simple joy of doing them. Being busy to the exclusion of everything else, though, is something that I don’t want to do any more. I want to slow down and give myself time to find the things I truly enjoy.

  3. Nancy L. Seibel says:

    @Megan Just came upon this very well written post. Thank you! I liked it so much I quoted a small part of it here http://wp.me/p2w5Tm-2Dj and linked to the full post. @Lisa I appreciate your comment that being busy is good when we’re doing things that in themselves bring us joy. Too often though we’re doing things we or others say we must. We’re not having any fun and we’re jeopardizing our health and well-being in the process.

Love comments! Please leave one! :)

